Enter your keywords:
State Sarawak

About Sarawak

About Sarawak

Sarawak History is an interesting historical journey from a humble fishing village to a modern developing state in the federation of Malaysia.

Early Sarawak Government.

As early as the 15th. Century..Sarawak was ruled by Sultan Tengah, her first and also her last last Sultan. During the early 19th. Century Sarawak was loosely governed territory under the control of the Brunei Sultanate.

It was during the chaotic reign of Pangeran Indera Mahkota in 19th. century that Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin(1827-1852) the then Sultan of Brunei. order Pangeran Muda Hashim to restore order in Sarawak.

The White Rajah Dynasty of Sarawak.

As this time(1839) Pangeran Muda Hashim requested James Brooke to help him to restore order in Sarawak but not until 1841 that he agreed to it. It was during that year that Pangeran Muda Hashim and James Brooke signed a treaty where the later agreed to surrender Sarawak and Sinian to James Brooke.

For his role in restoring order in Sarawak on 24th September 1841.James Brooke was bestowed the title of Governor by Pangeran Muda Hashim. Making him the Rajah of Sarawak and also the founder of the White Rajah Dynasty of Sarawak.

James Brooke rule Sarawak from 1841 to 1868. It was during his reign that Sarawak which were just a tiny fishing village expand to modern town.

His nephew - Charles Brooke succeeded him and ruled until 1917. His son became the 3rd. Rajah of Sarawak and ruled until the Japanese Invasion of December 1941.

Japanese Reign (Dec.1941 - Sept 1945)

The Japanese invaded Sarawak in December 1941 and ruled until they surrender in September 1945. The Australian Military Administration took over for several months.

British Colony ( May 1946- Sept 1963)

In May 1946...Sarawak was ceded to Great Britain by Vyner Brooke. Sarawak remains as Crown Colony for 17 years until September 16, 1963. When the federation of Malaysia was formed.

Federation of Malaysia

Sarawak is presently divided into 11 administrative division namely Kuching- the State Capital and seat of the government, Kota Samarahan, Sri Aman(formely Simanggang), Betong, Sarikei, Sibu, Kapit, Bintlu, Mukah, Miri and Limbang.

Sarawak has a Chief Minister, who heads a Cabinet of ministers. The Chief minister is appointed by the Yang Di-Pertuan Negeri(or Governor) from amongst members of the State's legislative Council. State general elections are held every five years.

To learn and understand more about Sarawak are welcome to visit Sarawak Museum in Kuching.

There you can find artifacts and literature about Sarawak from Brooke reign to the present governments.